Alan J. Davis Award

In 2007, Ballard Spahr established an award to honor the legacy of Alan J. Davis, the former Philadelphia City Solicitor and our distinguished partner. Mr. Davis was known for his exceptional skills as a litigator as well as his deep and longstanding commitment to public service.

Each year, in his memory, the firm recognizes an individual or group that has provided exemplary legal representation in a matter involving the public good. The award carries a prize of $25,000, which the firm donates to an organization of the winner’s choice.

Alan J. Davis Award Given to the clemency project team

Ballard Spahr’s Advocates for the Homeless were honored last week with the firm's 2016 Alan J. Davis Award for exemplary public service. The $25,000 cash prize, presented by firm Chair Mark Stewart, will be donated to the Homeless Advocacy Project (HAP) and the Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission.

In the past two decades, more than 200 Ballard Spahr attorneys, law students, and paralegals have spent more than 3,600 hours counseling homeless clients at bimonthly legal clinics at the shelter and have volunteered an additional 10,000 hours representing clients referred by HAP, including matters involving identity documents, public benefits, and housing issues.

HAP is a nonprofit legal services organization dedicated to meeting the legal and advocacy needs of Philadelphia’s homeless population. Its legal staff of eight oversees a volunteer corps of 350 lawyers, paralegals, and law students. The Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission is a nonprofit organization that runs a shelter that seeks to meet the physical and spiritual needs of Philadelphia’s homeless.

Ballard Spahr lawyers and staff in Philadelphia have served more than 900 homeless clients and donated more than 14,000 hours of service to the homeless community through this project. Ballard Spahr partners Scott P. Towers and Brian D. Pedrow accepted the award.

The Alan J. Davis Award is named for the late Philadelphia City Solicitor and distinguished Ballard Spahr litigator who was deeply devoted to public service.


Past Alan J. Davis Award recipients include:

2016 – Homeless Advocacy Project Team
2015 – Clemency Project Team
2014 – Advocates for Families in Crisis
2013 – Prisoner Civil Rights Team
2012 – Daniel Dougherty Capital Defense Team
2011 – The Ballard Spahr Asylum Initiative
2010 – Jacquelyn M. Gray and Jonathan T. Schmidt
2009 – The Wills for Heroes Team
2008 – Jason A. Leckerman